My (other) Latest Obsession: Little Dragon

I discovered a great band through Rosario Dawson’s iTunes Celebrity Playlist (it’s hip, check it out.) I offhandedly described this band, Little Dragon, to Vikram as “Erykah Badu produced by Bjork.” I still hear the Badu in vocalist Yukimi Nagano’s approach to pitch and phrasing – particularly the sound of her vibrato, and it’s spare use. I’m not so sure about the Bjork comparison though. I think the problem is that I’m not familiar enough with the Scandinavian electronic music influences from which both Bjork and Little Dragon draw their sound. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I’ve attached a stream of the first track from their self-titled album. I heartily recommend the whole album, of course. It’s 50 minutes of moody, bewitching music.

Also, I apologize for the barrage of short posts. I have a couple bigger ones on the burner, but they haven’t quite come to a boil yet. I can tell you that one is entitled “Why Big Band Music Sucks.” Something to look forward to!

Published in: on June 13, 2009 at 4:40 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twentydollars.wordpress.com/2009/06/13/my-other-latest-obsession-little-dragon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I concur. I love them.


Leave a Reply

